Sunday, 17 February 2013


His Excellency the President has made the following  Ministerial appointments over the weekend prior to the innoguration next weekend.

Dr. Matthew Teambo – Labour & Social Security
Mr. Alimamy Kamara – Youth Affairs
Mr. Paul Kamara – Sports
Alhaji Ibrahim Kemoh Sesay – Political & Public Affairs
Mr. Peter Bayuku Konte – Tourism & Culture
MINISTER OF STATE:Mrs. Harriet Turay – Office of the Vice-President

Mr. Augustine Nyuma Kortu – Labour & Social Security
Miss Feremusu Konte – Youth Affairs
Mr. Ishmail Al-Sankoh Conteh – Sports
Mr. Karamoh Kabba – Political & Public Affairs
Miss Kadi Sesay – Tourism & Culture
Professor Monty Jones – Special Adviser & Ambassador-at-Large
Alhaji Ibrahim Ben Kargbo – Special Adviser
Ambassador Dauda Kamara – Special Adviser
Dr. Sylvia Blyden – Special Executive Assistant to the President

SOME BACKGROUND ON THE NEW APPOINTMENTS provided by Dr Sylvia Blyden  in her posting in the Sierr Leone Issues Forum: read on:-

 "Most of the names like Alhaji Kemoh Sesay (former Transport Minister) are well-known and need little introduction but let me espouse on a few of the others.
Hon. Matthew Teambo & Hon. Alimamy Kamara are currently sitting as Parliamentarians representing Constituency 62 (Tonkolili) and Constituency 29 (Bombali) respectively. There will have to be conducted two Bye-Elections for their seats.
Peter Bayuku Konteh (aka Agbangba Jazz) was the erstwhile District Council Chairman for Koinadugu Local Council. He narrowly lost the APC symbol to the current winner.
Augustine Nyuma Kortu was the former Kailahun District Council Chairman. He hails from Kissi Kama Chiefdom. He had taken over the position when John Benjamin (erstwhile Kailahun Chairman) was made Finance Minister in 2005 but SLPP rejected to give him the symbol in 2008 and instead gave it to Tom Nyuma. He later defected to APC and contested for the same position in last General Elections which he lost. He is a trained Accountant by profession and has years of administrative experience.
Ishmail Al-Sankoh Conteh is easily one of the most recognisable names in youth activities in Sierra Leone. His name is synonymous with youth activism.
Miss Kadi Sesay is an APC Women’s Wing activist from the Northern Province (Tonkolili district). Feremusu Konte was the former Deputy Minister of Fisheries. She hails from Koinadugu.
Karamoh Kabba, a Kono indigene, returned from the Diaspora (America) to join the PMDC and later, he was appointed as Head of the Open Government Initiative at State House. On the way to Kono one time, his vehicle suffered a horrible accident and somersaulted. He lost all his personal belongings plus millions of leones inside the vehicle; money which had been meant for an OGI programme in Kono. He was vilified mercilessly by the opposition press who falsely accused him of stealing the money from the vehicle. Unfortunately, his OGI contract was then not renewed. On his total exoneration after an independent investigation, he was later appointed as Director of Political Affairs. He is more than well suited for the new job.
Alhaji Ibrahim Ben Kargbo and Ambassador Dauda Kamara are expected to bring their years of vast experience to bear on activities of the President at State House. They both enjoy the full confidence of the Head of State.
Mrs. Harriet Turay is a respected gender & civil society activist and is also a past president of the 50-50 group of Sierra Leone. She hails from Kono district.
And last but not least is PROFESSOR MONTY JONES who is easily one of the most influential Sierra Leoneans on the global stage. In 2007, he was named as TIME MAGAZINE’s 76th Most Influential Person in the world. His appointment as a Presidential Adviser with extraordinary and plenipotentiary powers to represent the President of Sierra Leone is expected to yield positive dividend for our country. Read the link below for more on him. God bless us all. God bless Sierra Leone."


No comments:

Post a Comment